Between a Rock and a Hard Place

 

100_0327

I can’t believe we are not going back to Quartzsite, Arizona, this year. It seems almost like a second home after all these years. Times change and so do priorities. The property is for sale and my daughter is using the motor home so she can travel and see America on her vacations.

We had a trip planned to Michigan and Louisiana in June and a Harley trip to Sturgis, South Dakota, in August, but I suspect we will not be going to Michigan or Louisiana ever again. Also, there is no doubt in my mind that Sturgis is also out. Oh, well…been there, done that three times.

The dilemma is simple…the mind is willing, but the body is not. We look forward to living simple in the Verde Valley of Arizona. We have desert and high country within riding range for day trips that include old western towns, fantastic views (including the Grand Canyon) and great places to eat. What more could you want?

We are at the end of our parents’ generation and ours is fast approaching like a runaway freight train. The years zip by faster than the speed of light and everyone we know who just had a birthday is having another. I don’t even want to think about mine anymore.

We have memories and pictures to back them up and that will just have to do. While we haven’t seen all of the U.S.A. or the world, we have seen more than our share and we are thankful for the opportunities and wonderful times we have enjoyed as a couple and a family.

A Hollywood star and director once said, “A man must know his limitations.” While I agree with that statement, I have one of my own. “You have to know the rules before you can break them.” Lord knows I have broken the rules and somehow come out the other side with the best wife and family anyone could ask for.

Me slow up? Yup, but not quite to a crawl; I can still ride a Harley, have fun with our pets and love to be with my wife, family and friends. I have everything I ever wanted and traveling to a second home does not have to be one of them.

“I went to the senior citizens center in Quartzsite, Arizona, the other day and all I found were old fuddy duddys with bad attitudes.” They can keep that flat, hard place and we will keep our rocky, high desert country.

Write on,

Mittster

http://www.murdermysteryevilinthemirror.com/

Leave a Reply

