The Secret is Out

If you don't know these folks, you don't watch soaps.

If you don’t know these folks – you don’t watch soaps.

OK, what I am about to tell you must be kept in confidence. My wife and I watch two soap operas together most week days. There, I have said it and I am proud. The programs, you ask? The Young and the Restless and The Bold and the Beautiful, I would answer back.

You now have to be wondering why Mittster (the biker dude) would divulge such information – it could ruin his reputation in the Harley world. I am also an author, I would again answer back. I like studying the characters on soaps; the writers surely use the Hollywood lifestyle as background for the outlandish behavior of their casts.

I like to compare what I see happening on the program to what I see happening in real life. If you take away all the money, huge mansions, fancy cars and time constraints for programming…I see real life. In the world we live in, life is no different – it just takes much longer to live it.

Once I understood this, my guilt for watching vanished. I also began to understand why millions of people watch soaps to begin with. It is said that everyone gets their fifteen minutes of fame; sometime in our lifetime we are going to live an episode from our favorite soap. Why wait, you can live it within an hour on television. This also works if you are elderly and already had your fifteen minutes – you get to do it again vicariously through actors…such a deal.

I do take issue with the fact that the population of Beverly Hills and Malibu has been shrunk to a handful of men and women in The Bold and the Beautiful. In their world, they have to swap the same partners over and over again to keep it interesting. I hope I live long enough to see a couple of bikers from Riverside allowed into the restricted zone. That should perk things up for a week or two.

I’m just saying,

Mittster

http://www.murdermysteryevilinthemirror.com/

Leave a Reply

