In Remembrance

Eulogy

The last ride - White Mountains of Arizona

The last ride – White Mountains of Arizona

I want to thank each and every family member and friend of my brother, Walt, for the wonderful words of inspiration and love conveyed after his passing. The measure of a man is not in his wealth and possessions, but rather in the wealth of kindness, sharing and compassion. In these three areas, Walt certainly measured up!

 

My favorite picture of Walt (R)

My favorite picture of Walt (R)

It is also fitting that everyone know and understand that his life partner, Virginia, nursed Walt through the last year and a half of his illness with devotion, understanding and love. She was with him every step of the way while he was being treated for terminal prostate cancer. The journey was not a nice one, but she never wavered in her love for Walt. He was aware that she was there for his passing and this knowledge helped in his journey. She deserves our praise, respect and love for her devotion.

Our annual ride to Colorado in better times

Our annual ride to Colorado in better times

I thought I might share something with you that most people don’t know which included me until after my twin passed. The special bond that most talk about concerning identical twins is even stronger than I suspected. My grief is tempered because he has not left me. He actually lives inside my being because we were truly one in life as we are now in death. I miss not being able to phone him and share experiences, but I find that I share them automatically now. I had often wondered would it would be like to lose an identical twin and was fearful; I fear no more because Walt was, and still is, a part of my soul.

Walt's opinion during his last ride

Walt’s opinion during his last ride

Most do not know that Walt was a very spiritual being. He had forgotten more about the Bible than I will ever know. He amazed me at the depth of his understanding of scripture and sometimes we would get in heated debates concerning the Old Testament. There were no such debates concerning the New Testament. He absolutely believed in Jesus Christ and knew that when it was his time that he would be forgiven his sins and be with his heavenly father. I have no doubt that he was right.

Yes, we were actually this young many moons ago

Yes, we were actually this young many moons ago

This memorial should be a joyous experience because we celebrate a life well spent. He did not go to his grave in a pristine body, but instead, slid full speed ahead, bruise, but not broken, used up, but not cynical, with a sense of humor that never wavered. He always loved his children no matter the circumstance and absolutely adored his life-partner, Virginia.

During his last ride he smiled - I could tell no matter the pain, he was happy

During his last ride he smiled – I could tell no matter the pain, he was happy

This is not goodbye, Brother Walt…this is instead – until we meet again in Devine Love.

Your brother,

Mitt

The above words are as poignant today as they were a year ago. I celebrate my brother’s life by living mine to the fullest. He is with me always in my heart and especially when I ride my Harley – he so loved riding his. I miss you so dear brother, but my heart is filled with good cheer because I know you dwell in Devine Love and are at peace.

Love always,

Mitt

Leave a comment