Regrets? (continued)

100_0446

This is the first time I have ever continued a blog subject. While I am flattered that so many people want to read more on this subject, I am a little apprehensive about being repetitious, and at the same time forcing myself to relive a past that is history and possibly best forgotten. I am always wary of history repeating itself….

I don’t need specific programs of rehabilitation to remind me that addiction to drugs and alcohol will always be lurking somewhere deep inside my being waiting to retake what it had claimed so many years ago. The beast always waits to drag its victim into darkness where it feeds on human dignity and spiritual wholeness. Yes, I am fearful of this possibility, but at the same time, I stand tall in the light yearning to stay free.

In the last blog, I mentioned the book “The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People” by Dr. Stephen Covey. At that time, I failed to mention one other book which was instrumental in showing me the path to sobriety. This book “The Greatest Salesman in the World” by Og Mandino also helped immensely in the process. It is fair again to mention that some would not find these books helpful and use the pages in the outhouse. In fact, these same people would print this blog for the same use. We can’t please everyone and if tried, we would end up banging our heads against the nearest solid object. This procedure would be a total waste of time and you don’t want to pay the doctor bill to patch up your head. I will save “Outrageous Doctor Bill” for another blog.

The next sentence is possibly the most repeated statement ever used. “Today is the first day of the rest of your life!” The reason it is so repeated is because it deals with one of the most basic truths of humanity. When we wake up in the morning (or any other time for that matter), we start life anew. This realization is what enabled me to get up, dust myself off, and move forward into a better life of Love and the understanding that it was not all about me.

Sure, I awoke many times heading for the golden throne so I could vomit up all the crap I had ingested the night before while saying, “I will never do this again.” If I had a nickel for every time I said that…you get the point; well, I never got a nickel and I never got rich. Let’s face it; grabbing a toilet rim to throw up is a really bad habit. According to Dr. Covey, “You can only get rid of a bad habit by replacing it with a good one.” Now we are getting somewhere was my thought when I read this. “What a concept.” Duh? Why didn’t I think of that before?

When I yanked myself by the seat of my britches out of the bars long enough to get sober, I started concentrating on becoming a construction superintendent instead of just a dirt bag carpenter. Things started to change; I dressed better, and I learned new ways to do my job more efficiently and professionally. I even taught myself to touch type using a CD which opened the door to becoming a project manager. Holy cow, people started looking up to me, and better yet, wanted my opinion at work and in my personal life!

When the bottom fell out of construction in 2009 and families were losing everything they ever worked for, I refused to let anything drag me back down into the darkness. I went to the computer and started writing a novel. The results have been three murder mysteries, “Evil in the Mirror” and “Day Stalker,” which are published and available on Amazon and “The Phoenix Code” which will be published in January of 2014. I also started writing my first blogs and discovered that writing was my long lost passion. I was amazed that the writing part was easy; proofing, editing and publishing were the real challenges.

If my path in life inspires just one person to do likewise, all of the work writing blogs will have not been in vain. I plan to put together a “Book of Blogs” and have it published so that after I have left the planet, whatever wisdom that may have been imparted can be read for generations to come. I say this with all modesty because I know that I am not a Stephen King or Ernest Hemingway. I am just a Harley rider and retired construction worker who likes to write.

I’m just saying,

Mittster

http://www.murdermysteryevilinthemirror.com/

Leave a Reply

