My Ride to Sturgis 2013

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I am sitting here after making the 2,550 mile journey to Sturgis and back while riding alone wondering why I ever doubted that a 70-year-old-man could make the trip safely. If you break the trip down to its single components, it was just a matter of riding everyday for a certain length of time praying that thunderstorms, crazy drivers and stray animals didn’t ruin the trip. As it turns out, all of the above were there and could have made me have a bad hair day. The difference is how safe you ride and how clear your head is when you ride.

All of my trips to the high country of Colorado start at Mary's Café in Flagstaff

All of my trips to the high country of Colorado start at Mary’s Café in Flagstaff

Our riding group all wanted to make the trip, but Julie and Jay couldn’t get off work long enough to make the trip safely and Hoppy had to have triple bi-pass surgery (which I thought was rude). Once I knew it would only be I going, I struggled with the idea of making the trip alone. The concerns piled up one on top of another until it seemed illogical that I go it alone; riding a motorcycle that far is always a challenge even when you are with a group.

Hoppy's trike at Mary's Café.

Hoppy’s trike at Mary’s Café.

Hoppy knew my concerns and stepped up to the plate with an offer I couldn’t refuse. “Take my new Harley trike, Mitt. It will be safer and you will have plenty of storage, electronic cruise control and CDs to make the trip more enjoyable – to say nothing of three wheels on the ground instead of just two. You get a safer ride and at least my trike will be at Sturgis even if I can’t.” What a guy; Hoppy’s trike made the trip so much better other than not being able to take mountain curves with the V-Rod purring like a kitten. Best I didn’t go there – way too many critters feeding along the roadside.

Beautiful Prong Horn at the Old Spanish Trail Monument in Colorado.

Beautiful Prong Horn at the Old Spanish Trail Monument in Colorado.

This was my third trip to Sturgis and my real motivation was to visit with my son who lives in Rapid City, South Dakota. There was no way I could disappoint him, so I threw caution to the wind and set out for Sturgis with high hopes and excitement in my heart. The trip provided the opportunity to reunite with my son and connect with my inner self while traveling all those miles alone.

My son, Jeremy, and me at the Sturgis rally.

My son, Jeremy, and I at the Sturgis rally.

While the pictures are mostly mountain scenes and little of Sturgis, this trip was focused on the ride, not the destination. I have multitudes of Sturgis photos from previous trips, but very little of the beautiful places traveled during the ride. I do hope you enjoy and maybe next year you can make the trip to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.

Wolf Creek Pass in Colorado.

Wolf Creek Pass in Colorado.

Downtown Cheyenne, Wyoming.

Downtown Cheyenne, Wyoming.

Neat older houses in Rapid City, South Dakota.

Neat older houses in Rapid City, South Dakota.

My son is an Animal Control Officer and he makes me proud!

My son is an Animal Control Officer and he makes me proud!

OK...just one picture of the real deal!

OK…just one picture of the real deal back in 03!

Ride on,

Mittster

http://www.murdermysteryevilinthemirror.com/

Leave a Reply

