Internet Blues

Print

I long for the days of dial-up Internet and when AOL was my friend. Sure it was slow as molasses in January and getting bumped off-line occasionally was normal, but at least we had service.

As I sit here watching the lights blinking erratically on our modem that is a quarter the size it used to be twelve years ago, and marvel at our thin laptop with a slave monitor that I can move data back and forth from screen to screen with my wireless mouse, I wonder what good is all this wonderful technology when our Internet service fails on a weekly basis?

Perhaps it is because we love living in northern Arizona in the small town of Camp Verde, but the larger communities of Cottonwood, Sedona and Flagstaff are not far away. OK, even they are smaller by far than Phoenix, which is 80 miles to the south. I sometimes forget that our area of Arizona is still a territory. We just don’t have the choice of service providers the big cities enjoy.

Now that I think about it, perhaps I should be grateful that we live in such a quiet and relatively peaceful place. Usually at 4:28 a.m., I am frantically trying to write my blog for the day and get it (along with blurbs about my novels) posted on Facebook and Twitter. Today, I am just writing casually, enjoying a cup of coffee, while feeling at peace with the world. The hell with the lack of Internet service; I’m not lacking in peaceful contemplation and relaxation.

I am reminded of an old song by Simon and Garfunkel called “The Sounds of Silence.” While I am at it, I think I will listen to some Karen Drucker. In case you have never had the pleasure of listening to her music, just look her up on-line – that is if you have an Internet provider. I just found myself sneaking a peek at the modem lights. No luck, they are still frantically dancing around like water bubbles on a hot skillet.

While the Internet was down yesterday, I found myself reading chapters I had written for my new novel, “The Phoenix Code.” I must say, I rather liked it after virtually abandoning the project months ago. That’s the thing about author burnout, you just need to step back and let your brain have a breather. While I do plan on resuming work on the book, I really can’t do it without the Internet. My writing style dictates that I research while writing because I use word processing and never handwrite notes, especially things that need to be researched online. Never put off till tomorrow what can be done right this minute.

I often wonder how the great writers used pen and paper while writing bestselling novels. Never mind, I get it – they didn’t have computers and word processing. Perhaps I would be better off today had I learned writing the old-fashioned way. Come to think of it, I saw an old set of encyclopedias for sale at the swap meet yesterday…God forbid!

Write on,

Mittster

http://www.murdermysteryevilinthemirror.com/

Leave a Reply

