Where is the Ark when you need it?

I left our beautiful Verde Valley, Arizona, expecting a hot (and I mean HOT) trip to Quartzsite. I planned on using the A/C once I dropped down from Sunset Point on I-17 into north Phoenix…from there I would head west to Wickenburg and then into no man’s land and the lower Sonoran desert.

Verde Valley, Arizona

Verde Valley, Arizona

I-10 west bound into Quartzsite

I-10 west bound into Quartzsite

imagesCARM5TR5

Sonoran desert

Sonoran desert

When I reached the Lake Pleasant Highway it was sprinkling and lightning was popping everywhere as I headed west bound. By the time I reached Wickenburg, I could tell no A/C would be needed until I got further west and lower in elevation.

The more I traveled the harder it rained, and the harder it rained the more the truck wanted to ski along the highway. The whole area is prone to flooding so I drove slower and more carefully than usual. By now A/C was a distant memory and I thought about firing up the heater each time I entered a downburst. By the time I reached I-10 about ten miles from Quartzsite the rain had let up and I could see my destination down in the desert valley.

I stopped at my favorite service station to fill up for the return home. The usual cake of bugs on my windshield were not there, so filling up didn’t take long. I went inside the store for a soda and the attendant pointed out the window and we both stared at a dark wall of clouds heading our way from the south. I excused myself and headed post-haste to the motor home to do the things needed to keep the rig from imploding from the heat that I knew would return.

By the time I got the power and water on so I could fill five gallon buckets of water, I was getting not just a little concerned about being zapped by lightning. As I finished filling that last bucket outside, the microburst hit with full furry. After installing the last bucket inside the motor home, I was soaked to the gills.

imagesCAGEDGHI

I called my wife from inside the safety of the motor home and she reminded me of a large umbrella we kept in the home. I signed off with her knowing the longer I waited the wetter I was going to get, so I grabbed the umbrella and started the process of going out by the street to shut the water off and I also needed to turn the power off at the pedestal, which was located next to a large tree. I would also have to lock the storage shed back up and it was exposed to the elements, which had started to remind me of the Biblical flood.

As I stood under the car port at the end of the motor home getting up the nerve to head out to the water meter, a large flash followed by a clap of thunder that made my ears hurt reminded me of the crazy thing I was about to attempt. Here I stand with a large umbrella in one hand and a pair of pliers in the other. I was the perfect lightning rod preparing to do a Ben Franklin experiment!

imagesCAGEDGHI

I sucked it up and headed for the meter – the street was flooded up over my boots and even with the umbrella, I was now dripping wet and expecting to see Jesus at any second. I managed to get the water turned off and headed immediately for the power pedestal. I lifted the lid and pressed my wet palm against the breaker and pushed until it moved to the shut off position. Again, I expected to receive 440 volts while soaking wet and be discovered after the storm looking like a giant burned out matchstick welded to the metal electrical pedestal.

Now all I had to do was lock up the storage shed, which seemed like a football field away from the safety of the motor home car port. After locking the motor home, I sloshed out there and locked up the shed, Then, I pretty much swam back to the truck, got in and dragged the wet umbrella in behind me. There I sat dripping water all over the seat, but happy nonetheless that somehow I cheated death once again.

I gladly headed home and after getting off I-10 and driving toward Wickenburg, it was evident that my ordeal was not over. While the rain was letting up, I could not see out the windshield (due to humidity) unless I ran the A/C. When I did run it, it was also evident that I was going to die of pneumonia because cold air and wet clothes don’t mix. I turned up the heater dial and finally reached a happy medium while watching the gas gauge head south because of the wind, wet road and the AC being on.

I thought “The hell with it” and put an Eagles’ CD on and rocked all the way home to a waiting wife, dogs and one obnoxious parrot. When I drove into the car port, I couldn’t help but think of the great John Denver songs about home and family.

imagesCAGEDGHI

Thank you, Lord, for getting me back to my sanctuary safely once again!

I’m just saying,

Mittster

http://www.murdermysteryevilinthemirror.com/

Leave a Reply

